Mayme and Herb Frank Scholarship Program

Scholarships and grants are awarded to US and foreign students for post-graduate work focusing on the implications of federalism’s application to inter-democracy relations.

Areas of federalism and international integration considered are:

  • the growth of integrative international institutions in the extended Euro-Atlantic area, focusing on NATO, the European Union, the OECD, and G7 - as well as their history and politics;
  • future prospects for the evolving network of transatlantic institutions and their relations to the rest of the international order;
  • the relation between federalism and democracy;
  • application of federalist paradigms to reform international organization and world order, starting from a nucleus of democracies;
  • theories of regional and inter-democracy relations that explain how integrated and democratic “core” areas can attract new members;
  • ways that federalist structures can be used to improve the current global order;
  • the influence of integration in the extended Atlantic area on the stability of the international system;
  • options for deeper integration through federative institutions of mature democracies;
  • steps toward flexible voting processes in inter-democracy institutions (NATO, OECD, etc.), as a path beyond veto-ridden procedures; and
  • federalism, its norms, ethics, and structural applications among democracies. 

The Frank Fund Scholarship sponsors studies in the areas described above on an ongoing basis. To be eligible, applicants must be graduate students, or recent graduates, in the fields of international relations, political science or history.

To apply, applicants must submit:

1. A concise but complete description of the project and how it would meet the requirements of the Frank Educational Fund.

2. A brief (no more than five pages) writing sample. 

3. A copy of graduate transcripts. 

Inquiries and complete applications should be sent by email to with the subject line "Frank Fund Scholarship." 

Previous page: History
Next page: Board of Directors